Saturday, July 28, 2012

NIS America Licenses Umineko: When They Cry

Announced during their panel at Otakon, NIS America will release Umineko: When They Cry on two separate Premium Edition volumes on Blu-ray this December.  The 26-episode series originally aired in Japan back in 2009.

 Plot Summary from Anime News Network:
Umineko no Naku Koro ni takes place in the year 1986, during the time frame of October 4 and October 5 on a secluded island named Rokkenjima. The head of a wealthy family named Kinzo Ushiromiya, who lives on and owns Rokkenjima, is near death, and eight of his family members arrive on the island to discuss how Kinzo's assets will be divided once he is dead. Also on the island are three family members who live there, five of Kinzo's servants, and his personal physician. After the eight family members arrive, a typhoon traps them on the island and shortly after people start to get mysteriously murdered.

The anime series is an adaptation of the visual novel of the same name by 07th Expansion.  They have also worked on the previous entry of mystery/horror anime Higurashi: When They Cry.

I hope NIS America will also think about re-licensing Higurashi and its sequel Kai someday.

source:NIS America Adds Umineko: When They Cry Mystery Anime

No comments:

Post a Comment